Day 1 – Bacon Infused Everything

Posted on Updated on

Right after I woke up, I had a teaspoon of chia seeds in water, a dietary-fiber-gaining trick that I picked up when I was thinking about going on my first juice fast.  Shortly thereafter, I cooked breakfast, which was kind of odd. I’ve not only got to get used to cooking meals every morning again, but I’ve also got to get used to the idea of loading them with fat.

Breakfast:

  • 1 tsp bacon grease, which I’ve been hoarding for a while
  • 4 eggs, scrambled
  • 2 Tbsp half & half mixed in with the eggs
  • 11 g green onions (3 onions, chopped)
  • 1 slice Wegmans jalapeño and cayenne cheese.

Total: 469 calories, 6 g carbohydrates.

Bacon grease melting in a cast iron skillet. Welcome to the weird world of keto.
Bacon grease melting in a cast iron skillet. Welcome to the world of keto.

For lunch, I was going to bring in a helping of my black-bean and hamburger mixture that I made over the weekend, but then I saw thanks to MyFitnessPal (which I’ll start referring to simply as MFP) that even that would likely put me over my carbohydrate limit for the day thanks to the beans.  So, I didn’t bother bringing in a real lunch, just some packets of almonds: one I planned to eat around lunchtime, and the other as an emergency backup snack. Turns out I really didn’t need that second bag. The proteins and the fats from breakfast and the almonds were enough to keep me full until I headed home.

What also may have helped is that I found out just how much water I need to be drinking – at least 3 whole liters, or 100+ fl oz.  I have a glass bottle (originally a Nantucket Nectars drink) that I’ve kept around as a water bottle, but I’m fairly sure it only holds around 16 ounces.  I might have to bring in something bigger to keep up.  Heck, I might as well just bring a gallon jug and a straw. Some hydration calculators even suggest I may need up to 5 liters!

My plan today was to head to the meat market and stock up on meats, but it turns out that the meat market was closed, and not open until tomorrow.  Although I preferred not have hamburgers this evening, I went with some anyway since it was the only meat available. No buns, of course, but cheese and mayo were on the menu. I continued to measure absolutely everything, and apparently I have historically eaten less mayonnaise than is in a typical serving. That’s good, because the extra mayo made the burgers extra delicious. I also opened up one of my bags of broccoli cuts and sautéed them in—you guessed it—bacon grease.

Dinner:

  • 2 Hamburger patties, grilled
  • 2 Slices Wegmans jalapeño and cayenne cheese
  • 2 Tbsp Hellman’s Canola Mayonnaise
  • 1 Cup Wegmans Just Picked Broccoli Cuts, cooked in 1 tsp. bacon grease.
  • 1 cup coffee with 2 Tbsp half & half

Total: 965 calories, 5g carbohydrates

Keto™: Even the vegetables taste like bacon.
Keto™: Even the vegetables taste like bacon.

Also, apparently coffee—which I had for dessert, as I usually do when I cook my own dinner—tastes way different with cream instead of milk. I never knew because I had avoided unnecessary fats like the plague. With the tables turned on the value of fats, I anticipate many more such discoveries.

I anticipate an upcoming “keto flu” (essentially carbohydrate withdrawal) in a day or two, but I think if it’s anything like what I experienced after a couple of days on my vegetable juice fast, I think I should be able to tough it out OK.


Current weight: 284.2 lb. (Measured after waking up)

Today’s highlight: roast chicken breast with creole seasoning

Feeling: Extremely warm and in need of AC most of the day. Also, things are starting to feel slightly “off,” particularly inside my mouth.

Music: New Order – Crystal

Yeah, I have decided to start including links in case you’ve either never heard of these songs, or you just feel like a random musical interlude.

One thought on “Day 1 – Bacon Infused Everything

    choperena said:
    2014/06/04 at 12:35 pm

    Chia lemonade is fantastic.

    I also used to always avoid fat in my coffee and only used skim milk, and then I always wondered why coffee tasted like shit. With keto I started using heavy cream, and the way the acids bond with the fats made it infinitely better! I highly recommend you take the plunge. Especially if you get heavy cream from Meyers! Make sure you get a small bottle, though, since the half gallon doesn’t want to keep in this weather for long.

    And yes, beans will probably have too many carbs, no matter how much I love them.

Leave a Reply

